Playwright answers "why this play now"

it's our favorite question

When submitting a play to a development or production opportunity, there’s one question that consistently rises like a hungry ghoul from the application, its wide fanged grin whispering menacingly: why this play? why here and why now?

Why this play now?

  • Because I am alive and have an idea and want to write it

  • I’m a play guy, love plays*

  • It’s actually not this play now, it’s this play eight years ago but it got stuck in theatre development hell

  • Money, please!!!!

  • How about YOU pick it and tell ME why this play now

    • look maybe I’m just suspicious and burnt out but it kind of feels like you want me to do your marketing work for you with this question

  • Riddle me this - why Shakespeare now

  • I actually don’t like this play now, but I looked at your production history and you only seem to produce work about historically disenfranchised people’s trauma, so here’s mine

  • Why Art Ever

*thanks Matt Volk for this joke like two years ago