• Feeling Fickle
  • Posts
  • in a way that matters - streaming Friday, 2/3 at 2pm Eastern

in a way that matters - streaming Friday, 2/3 at 2pm Eastern

there's a link in here!

A group of tumblr and twitter posts on the left. Tristan is on the right in a mask, checkerboard shirt and shorts, holding an illustrated skull. In the center is the title text "in a way that matters" by Tristan B Willis. The tweets/tumblr posts are: 1. putting destroy my bones in my will so archaeologists can't claim I was a woman as self care. 2. mushroom: can you feel your heart burning? can you feel the struggle within? the fear within me is beyond anything your soul can make. you cannot kill me in a way that matters 3. personsonable: decay exists as an extant form of life / miaislying: That’s a terrifying answer, have a nice day 4. am i boy? am i girl? who knows!! but everyone finds my hot and that makes everyone gay!!

After a hard day of work at the REACH at the Kennedy Center, we’re only a few days out from sharing what we’re working on!

in a way that matters is a multimedia performance about who we are, who we were, and what happens when we’re gone. It dives into my relationship with death acceptance and the body, and features a little bit of interaction (low stakes and anonymous). in a way that matters will be streamed live on Youtube.

Content warnings are discussions of death, brief mentions of chronic illness, animal death (direct mention, no details), and mushrooms. Feel free to reach out if you need more details around the content.

This piece is my first try at answering “how do I stop writing for theatres and start writing for people?” I’m really excited to see what we can pull together in four! and a half! days! and I hope you’ll join us Friday, February 3 at 2pm Eastern.

in a way that matters

is by

Collaborator, Dramaturg - Joan Cummins

Collaborator, Production Designer - navi

Collaborator, Writer, Performer - Tristan B Willis

It is developed as part of The Kennedy Center’s Local Theatre Residency program at the REACH.