Communicating across time and space

a show about death acceptance doesn't have to be a downer

On the left: A portrait of Claude Cahun dressed in a shirt that says "I am in training. Don't kiss me" with a drawing of lips beneath it. Claude holds a large fake dumbbell. Their hair has two curls on the forehead and they wear exaggerated makeup - dark pouty lips, drawn on eyelashes, and a heart on either cheek. On the right: A portrait of Tristan dressed the same as Claude in the previous portrait.

It feels difficult to promote my work… ever… but I especially worry the idea of a piece about death acceptance scares some people and evokes particular ideas of Depressing Drama. And I get it to an extent! I’ve been on a death acceptance journey for a little more than a year. Before then, the idea of seriously talking and thinking about my and my loved one's deaths was horrifying, panic-inducing. It’s hard shit.

But shifting my thinking on death and time has helped me embrace the wonder of my world and the people in it, of the miracle of all of us ending up here right now.

It hasn’t made everything easier. There are so many unfair deaths and so much immense suffering that hits most of us like waves. I still get pulled under. I still get scared. I still have so many questions. Facing my and others’ ephemerality as a practice helps me dig into those questions instead of avoiding them.

in a way that matters is not a total downer. It’s not even all about death! Mostly it’s me inviting you into my home and sharing stories. Stories about me and about the (human and not) people who inspire me.

One of those people is Claude Cahun. I’m not going to dig into Claude’s story here (you’ll have to see the show to know what I’m drawn to) but a yearish ago I started trying to replicate some of Claude’s self portraits. If you’ve been here awhile, you’ve seen some of them in a past newsletter.

They briefly appear in the show, so I thought I’d share one set here as well. Claude is long gone, but I’m still listening to what Claude has to say. We’re still communicating with each other. Isn’t that wonderful?

I’d really love for you to join us at the show.

in a way that matters streams live on YouTube on Friday, Nov 3 at 8pm Eastern and Saturday, Nov 4 at 3pm Eastern. Tickets are pay-what-you-want (including free) and ticket links are below.